walgreens

Pectin

A plant-based alternative to gelatin used to set gummies.

  1. Pectin is a fiber that comes from the cell walls of plants and allows them to grow. Because it helps cell walls bind together, it's often used as a gelling agent in foods like jam or jellies. We use pectin specifically from apple cores to help stiffen and set our gummy vitamins.

  2. Pectin is a 100% vegetarian, plant-based gelling agent that we use as an alternative to gelatin. Gelatin is derived from collagen, which most commonly comes from pig hooves. That means it's not a vegetarian ingredient, which many people don't realize. Using pectin from apple cores gives our gummies their great springy texture without having to use an animal byproduct.

Where Does It Come From?

Our pectin comes from the cores of apples grown in France and other countries.

World MapSudanSouth SudanGeorgiaPeruBurkina FasoFranceGuadeloupeMartiniqueReunionMayotteFrench GuianaLibyaBelarusPakistanIndonesiaYemenMadagascarBolivia, Plurinational State ofSerbiaCote d'IvoireAlgeriaSwitzerlandCameroonMacedoniaBotswanaKenyaTaiwan, Province of ChinaJordanMexicoUnited Arab EmiratesBelizeBrazilSierra LeoneMaliCongo, the Democratic Republic of theItalySomaliaAfghanistanBangladeshDominican RepublicGuinea-BissauGhanaAustriaSwedenTurkeyUgandaMozambiqueNew ZealandCubaVenezuela, Bolivarian Republic ofPortugalColombiaMauritaniaAngolaGermanyThailandAustraliaPapua New GuineaIraqCroatiaGreenlandNigerDenmarkLatviaRomaniaZambiaMyanmarEthiopiaGuatemalaSurinameWestern SaharaCzech RepublicChadAlbaniaFinlandSyrian Arab RepublicKyrgyzstanSolomon IslandsOmanPanamaArgentinaUnited KingdomCosta RicaParaguayGuineaIrelandNigeriaTunisiaPolandNamibiaSouth AfricaEgyptTanzania, United Republic ofSaudi ArabiaVietnamRussian FederationHaitiBosnia and HerzegovinaIndiaChinaHong KongMacaoCanada